NEW REGISTRATIONS


CAR1 - Copy.PNG (2)
Automobile registration for Waldoboro residents requires payment of an excise tax to the Town (if the vehicle is kept here) and a registration fee to the State of Maine. Because the Town of Waldoboro is a full registration agent for the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), most first-time registrations and re-registrations can be processed by the Town, eliminating the need for a separate transaction with the BMV.

First-Time Registrations

The first time you register a motor vehicle in Waldoboro (even if it has been registered here or elsewhere by a previous owner), you must register in person at the Town of Waldoboro Municipal Building.  Please arrive 30 minutes prior to closing (Monday, Wednesday and Thursday by 4:30pm and Tuesday by 6:30pm) 

Dealer/Private Sale

If purchased from a dealer or through a private sale, the following documents are required for registration:

  • Current Registration (if Transferring Plates from Your Current Vehicle)
  • Dealer Invoice or Bill of Sale
  • Maine Sales Tax Form
  • Maine Title Application
  • Manufacturer’s Window Sticker (if Vehicle Is New)
  • Previous Owner’s Title and Lien Release (if Purchased in Private Sale)
  • Proof of Insurance (Valid Insurance Card)
  • Vehicle Mileage from Odometer Reading

If the vehicle is purchased or acquired from an estate, additional documentation is required. Please call 207-832-5369 x 1 ahead for details.

Previously Registered in Another State

If the vehicle was previously registered in another state, the following documents are required:

  • Lienholder/Loan Documents (if Applicable)
  • Proof of Insurance Meeting Requirements of Maine Law
  • Registration from State Where Last Registered
  • Title from State Where Last Registered
  • Vehicle Mileage from Odometer Reading

Re-Registrations

Re-registrations may be completed in person at the Tax Office, by mail, or online through Rapid Renewal.

Requirements for Re-Registration

  • Current registration
  • Proof of insurance (valid insurance card)
  • Vehicle mileage from odometer reading

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

Unless exempt, Brunswick residents are required to pay an excise tax in order to register a vehicle. The amount of the tax is based on the manufacturer’s suggested retail price (list price) when new, and the current age of the vehicle:

  • $24 dollars per thousand on the list price for the first or current year of model
  • $17.50 per thousand for the second year
  • $13.50 per thousand for the third year
  • $10 per thousand for the fourth year
  • $6.50 per thousand for the fifth year
  • $4 per thousand for the sixth and succeeding years

The minimum excise tax on a motor vehicle is $5. Excise tax is retained by the Town and may be appropriated for any purpose for which the Town may appropriate money.